Senator Hoon-Yung Hopgood

Wayne County: Allen Park, Ecorse, Lincoln Park, Melvindale, Riverview, Romulus, Southgate, Taylor, Wayne, Wyandotte

Senator Hopgood Statement on Wayne RESA Vote on Inkster School Dissolution, Redistribution of Students

Inkster, Mich. - Senator Hoon-Yung Hopgood (D – Taylor) released the following statement in response to Wayne RESA School Board's vote this evening to formally dissolve Inkster Schools and disperse their students among the Romulus, Taylor, Wayne-Westland, and Westwood School Districts. The Romulus, Taylor and Wayne-Westland School Districts are within Hopgood's Senate District.

“Governor Snyder and the Republican Legislature have left the Wayne RESA School Board with their hands tied and in a no-win situation by dissolving the Inkster schools,” said Senator Hopgood. “Instead of attending the meeting, as he was invited to do, the Governor is nowhere in sight as he leaves the school board to clean up the mess he made, and answer to the parents and community who are understandably upset about this dissolution. The associated redistribution of students to surrounding schools is of grave concern to these schools and communities, which are already struggling.”

Wayne RESA did not support the dissolution legislation passed by Legislative Republicans in June. Utilizing that statute, earlier this week, the State Superintendent and State Treasurer issued a joint declaration directing the dissolution of Inkster Public Schools. The statute called upon Wayne RESA to either reassign current Inkster students to other districts, or request the State Superintendent to make those decisions instead. Given only those two options under statute, Wayne RESA and the local school districts decided that the reassignment of students should be handled locally.